SSC CHSL Exam – All You Need To Know

SSC CHSL (Combined Higher Secondary Level) exam is a national level online exam conducted by Staff Selection Commission of India to select Higher Secondary qualified students for various government departments. The SSC CHSL will be conducted for the recruitment of eligible candidates in different government departments, offices and ministries for different posts like Data Entry Operator(DEO), Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA), Postal Assistants(PA),Lower Divisional Clerk (LDC), Sorting Assistants(SA), Data Entry Operator Grade A across ministries and government offices.

SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria

  • Citizenship: The candidate must be a Citizen of either India or Nepal or Bhutan. If a candidate is a citizen of Nepal or Bhutan shall have a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Government of India in favour of him/her.
  • Age Limit (as on 01/01/2022): The age of candidates must be between 18 to 27 years.
    • Age Relaxation: As per government guidelines age relaxation in SSC CHSL 2022 is given in the table below :
CategoryAge Relaxation
OBC3 years
SC/ST5 years
PH+Gen10 years
PH + OBC13 years
PH + SC/ST15 years
Ex-Servicemen (Gen)3 years
Ex-Servicemen (OBC)6 years
Ex-Servicemen (SC/ST)8 years

Educational Qualification (as on 07/03/2022):

For LDC/ JSA, PA/ SA, DEO (except DEOs in C&AG): The candidates who are planning to appear in CHSL 2022 exam must have passed the 12th Standard or equivalent examination from a recognized Board or University.
For Data Entry Operator (DEO) in the Office of Comptroller and Auditor General of India (C&AG): 12th Standard pass in Science stream with Mathematics as a subject from a recognized Board or equivalent.

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

Tier-IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer-Based (online)
Tier-IIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier-IIISkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestWherever Applicable

  • SSC CHSL 2022 Tier 1 exam will be conducted in online mode.
  • Introduction of a descriptive paper of 100 marks within 60 minutes in pen and paper mode.
  • Reduction in the time limit for examination of Tier -I from 75 minutes to 60 minutes.
  • Tier III will remain the same.
  • No Sectional Cut off.

SSC CHSL Tier-I Exam Pattern

Serial No.SectionsNo. of QuestionsTotal MarksTime Alloted
1.General Intelligence255060 mintues(80 min for PWD candidates)
2.General Awareness2550
3.Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill)2550
4.English Language (Basic Knowledge)2550

Please note that the total duration of Tier-1 is 60 minutes for all candidates. However, this duration extends till 80 minutes for PwD candidates.

SSC CHSL Tier-II Exam Pattern

SSC CHSL Tier-II is a descriptive type of test. In order to assess the writing skills of candidates in English/Hindi, the candidates have to qualify for Tier-II. This written test comprises an Essay of 200-250 words and Letter/Application writing of about 150-200 words. The minimum marks that a candidate needs to score in SSC CHSL Tier-II are 33 per cent.

The total time duration is 80 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped or suffer from cerebral palsy.

SSC CHSL Tier-III Exam Pattern

The Tier III of SSC CHSL 2022 comprises a couple of skill tests that are needed for selection to certain government posts. These include typing test, for which a candidate must have a 30wpm (Hindi Medium) and 35wpm (English Medium). The test duration is 15 minutes. For visually handicapped (40% disabled), 30 minutes will be provided. Finally, a merit list will be prepared after the typing test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *